The Star and Garter is one of the older standing residential buildings in Falmouth. The property was built around 1800, and was the site of mercer and wine & spirit merchant until it became a public house in the 1870’s.
Next door sits Ludgate House, a Grade II listed building which dates back to 1685 and is opposite to the Old Town Hall which dates back to the early 1700‟s.
The three buildings were linked gruesomely in the early 1800’s by an alleged murder in our house, we don’t think we’re haunted, but you might be able to tell us otherwise!
In the 1970’s the building was saved from compulsory purchase that could have resulted in demolition when it was found that it and surrounding houses were some of the oldest in Falmouth
At the end of the 1980’s after extensive local regeneration of the trade quays to the seaward side of the pub and the building of new waterside housing, the building was restored as a public house, trading under its original name with the English chivalric motto of the Order of the Garter “Honi soit qui mal y pense” – “evil to him who evil thinks”.
In 2001 planning permission granted the building of a glazed 7ft cantilever extension along the 10 metre length of the property, opening up the seaward side and exposing it to a stunning 180 degree panoramic view of the harbour.